Book Review | Egomaniac by Vi Keeland

goodreads

egomaniacThe night I met Drew Jagger, he’d just broken into my new Park Avenue office.  I dialed 9-1-1 before proceeding to attack him with my fancy new Krav Maga skills.  He quickly restrained me, then chuckled, finding my attempted assault amusing.   
 
Of course, my intruder had to be arrogant. 
Only, turned out, he wasn’t an intruder at all.   
 
Drew was the rightful occupant of my new office.  He’d been on vacation while his posh space was renovated. 
Which was how a scammer got away with leasing me office space that wasn’t really available for rent.   
I was swindled out of ten grand. 
 
The next day, after hours at the police station, Drew took pity on me and made me an offer I couldn’t refuse.  In exchange for answering his phones while his secretary was out, he’d let me stay until I found a new place. 
I probably should have acted grateful and kept my mouth shut when I overheard the advice he was spewing to his clients.  But I couldn’t help giving him a piece of my mind.  
I never expected my body to react every time we argued.  Especially when that was all we seemed to be able to do. 
 
The two of us were complete opposites. Drew was a bitter, angry, gorgeous-as-all-hell destroyer of relationships.  And my job was to help people save their marriages.  
The only thing the two of us had in common was the space we were sharing.   
And an attraction that was getting harder to deny by the day.   

rating

4 out of 5 stars

review

First paper book I’ve read in several years.  I have to say, I read paper books much faster than I read e-books.  Knocked this puppy out in less than 24 hours!

Egomaniac starts off with poor Emerie Rose discovering that the office she paid $10,000 in cash for wasn’t actually on the market.  She had been scammed, and the owner of her office space, Drew Jagger, wasn’t too thrilled to find her in his office.

Drew was returning from a 2 week Hawaiian vacation, on New Year’s Eve (which is significant in this story).  He accompanies Emerie to the police station to file a report, and takes pity on her.  He offers to allow her to stay in his office and run her business (she’s a marriage counselor, he’s a divorce attorney) until she gets back on her feet, but she has to help answer his phone, because his secretary is out.

Emerie and Drew fight a lot.  About everything.  It was cute.  It made their relationship seem more realistic.  Drew had some major trust issues (bitch ex-wife).  But he was an amazing guy.  I won’t spoil the part of the story, but what he does  – just wow.  Wow.  He was an amazing character, who wasn’t really an egomaniac (but sort of).

Emerie followed a guy to New York because she was in love with him, but he didn’t return her feelings.  The guy, Baldwin (pretentious name) was a real dick and I didn’t like him at all.  But Drew….

There was some ex-wife drama, but nothing over the top.  Both characters were great and likable.  Makes the story read much faster.

I would recommend.

Happy reading.

signature2

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

