The Keepers – Netflix Documentary

the keepers

I just finished the new Netflix documentary called The Keepers, which premiered on Netflix on May 19, 2017.

On November 7, 1969,  Sister Catherine Cesnik was going to buy her sister an engagement gift and disappeared.  Two months later, her body was found.  Four days after Sister Cathy disappeared, another woman named Joyce Malecki disappeared.  For a while, there were thoughts that the two cases were related, but it later became clear that there was more than meets the eye.

This documentary follows two of Sister Cathy’s former students, Gemma and Abbie, who are both retired grandmothers, as they try to investigate the murder of Sister Cathy.  Sadly, given the time that has passed since the murder, a lot of people have passed away who are key to the investigation.

This is one of the best documentaries I’ve seen in a very long time, and I have watched many documentaries.  The cinematography was incredible, and the music, while chilling, was exceptionally appropriate.  I would venture to say it was way better than Making A Murderer, which I also enjoyed, but this story is just told in a more organic and beautiful way.  This should win a load of Emmy and Golden Globe awards, in my opinion.

What Gemma and Abbie could not have imagined is the can of worms they opened by looking into Sister Cathy’s murder.  There is no way they could have known the sinister things that were happening at Archbishop Keogh High School in Baltimore.  There is no way they could have known the number of people who were going to come out of the woodwork to talk about what happened to them.

What I can’t get past is the fact that the police and the Catholic Church in Baltimore did nothing about any of these things.  I can’t give too much away, but I will tell you that I finished this documentary a) wanting way more and b) extremely pissed off.  And I’m a Catholic.

I would highly recommend this documentary to anyone, man or woman, Catholic or non-Catholic.  I will also say Baltimore as a whole has some incredible issues that need to be addressed.  As someone who closely follows the Adnan Syed case, and is well aware of the police and prosecutorial misconduct in that case, I can say Baltimore is a very flawed city.  I’m sure Chicago, where I’m from, is as well, but it’s not nearly as high profile as Baltimore.  Hopefully more films and podcasts coming out about the corruption in Baltimore will finally get some action going.

Please, do yourself a favor and watch this documentary.  It’s well worth your time.

Happy Memorial Day!

signature2

2 thoughts on “The Keepers – Netflix Documentary

  1. I watched this whole thing Saturday night! When I saw it and saw it was 7 episodes I was like “perfect something to watch all week while I’m house sitting” but
    I was dragged right in. I didn’t know anything about the Baltimore Catholic Church scandal, so I was blown away that things like this had been uncovered the way they were in the early nineties and what happened in the Boston Archdiocese still happened nearly 10 years later. The documentary was very well done. There was a lot of information and I think the filmmakers did a great job adding slowly instead of doing an info dump early. I’m hoping there is a follow up with this story because it’s not finished.

Leave a Reply

