Check out these documentaries

If you have read my blog, you know I love documentaries.  I’m not sure why, but I just do.  I find them fascinating.

I watched two really interesting documentaries this week, and I wanted to let you know about them, you know, in case you’re like me and are always looking for a new documentary to watch!

The Seven Five (Netflix).  I hadn’t heard of this documentary, which has been around the seven fivesince 2014, and I stumbled upon it and I have to say, it was really good.  The Seven Five is the story of Michael Dowd, a police office in the 75th Precinct in New York (hence the name; they call them like that in NY for some reason).  Dowd discovered quickly how easy it was to steal from “scum of the earth drug dealers” (his words, not mine).  What started small turned into a very large operation, and he ended up pulling in other officers with him.

Dowd was interviewed for this film, along with partners and other “associates” during this crime days.  I found the story fascinating.  Dowd was brutally honest, and accepted who he was.  Didn’t make him a good guy, but you had to respect that.  Really good film that I would recommend.

Mommy Dead and Dearest (HBO).  This documentary just premiered on Monday, and I mommy dead and dearesthave to say, I have never seen anything like this.  This is the story of Gypsy Rose Blanchard, a girl who grew up with a plethora of health problems and was confined to a wheelchair.  Things aren’t always what they seem, and that holds true in this film.  I can’t give many details, because I don’t want to spoil it, but this was a really powerful but utterly devastating film.  I had so many feelings while watching this film.  It’s a hard film to watch, but worth it.

Also, just released today, is The Keepers, which is the true story of a nun in Baltimore whose murder in 1969 has never been solved.  I started watching a little on my lunch hour and I’m intrigued.  Streaming on Netflix.

Do you have any documentaries you would recommend?  I tend to prefer true crime but will really watch most anything.

Have a lovely weekend.

signature2

Leave a Reply

