Book Review | Full Package by Lauren Blakely

goodreads

full packageI’ve been told I have quite a gift. Hey, I don’t just mean in my pants. I’ve got a big brain too, and a huge heart of gold. And I like to use all my gifts to the fullest, the package included. Life is smooth sailing….

Until I find myself stuck between a rock and a sexy roommate, which makes for one very hard…place.

Because scoring an apartment in this city is harder than finding true love. So even if I have to shack up with my buddy’s smoking hot and incredibly amazing little sister, a man’s got to do what a man’s got to do.

I can resist Josie. I’m disciplined, I’m focused, and I keep my hands to myself, even in the mere five-hundred square feet we share. Until the one night she insists on sliding under the covers with me. It’ll help her sleep after what happened that day, she says.

Spoiler—neither one of us sleeps. Did I mention she’s also one of my best friends? That she’s brilliant, beautiful and a total firecracker? Guess that makes her the full package too. What’s a man stuck in a hard place to do?

rating

3 1/2 out of 5 stars

review

You’ve read Full Package before.  Maybe not this exact book, but the concept.  Guy and girl are best friends who are secretly in love with each other, end up having sex and then end up pushing each other away because they are too afraid to lose each other as friends.

This version of events starts Chase Summers, ER doctor who needs a place to live, and real estate is hard to find in NYC.  Enter Josie Hammer, best friend of Chase, whose roommate just moved out, opening the perfect situation for Chase and Josie to be roommates.

Josie runs a bakery and also likes to cook, so there are some fun recipes in this book (not sure how real they are, but hey, they’re there).  She and Chase share lots of meals and laughs while watching random HBO shows.

I liked both Chase and Josie, and I loved that this book was told from Chase’s POV (as all of Lauren Blakely’s books are).  I enjoyed reading about Chase’s interesting patients, and meeting his brother Max and getting to know him.

But overall, I was bored.  It was obvious that Chase and Josie were in love with each other, to everyone but them.  There was no family drama, or dramas with exes, so that was a plus, but the concept of BFF’s falling in love is just getting boring to me.

It certainly wasn’t a bad book; in fact, it was a good book, but the trope is just boring me now.

Happy weekend and Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there!

signature2

Leave a Reply

