Top Ten Tuesday – Things that instantly make me not want to read a book

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & The Bookish Blog.

This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Things that will instantly make me not want to read a book

  1. The book has less than a 3.75 rating on goodreads.  I know this may make me seem snobby, but 95% of the time, I agree with the ratings on goodreads, so if it has less than a 3.75, I’m going to skip it.
  2. It’s about high school/college students.  My son is about to start college, and reading love stories about young people seems icky to me.  25 years old and above for me please.
  3. It’s a fantasy book.  I have no interest in fantasy – vampires, zombies, fairies, you name it.  I used to read them all the time, then lost interest.
  4. It’s dystopian.  Again, no interest, as these books usually follow a young person in another time.
  5. It’s written in the third person.  I have a really hard time with books written in the third person.  I will read them, but I’m more likely to read books in the first person, alternating POV’s.
  6. I’ve heard there is rape in the book.  I have no interest in reading about rape, and if I come across a rape scene in the book, I’m likely to stop reading.
  7. The book has an ugly cover.  I’m a bit of a cover whore, and if there is an ugly cover, the synopsis has to be really good for me to want to read it.
  8. There is more than one book about the same characters.  I just want to read one book about you.  If you show up in future books in the series, I’m happy to see you, but one book about you is enough.
  9. Erotica.  I’m so over the whole 50 Shades genre.  It’s so 2011.
  10. Books about virgins.  There are SO many books on KU about virgins.  Don’t care.  If I start reading and discover they are a virgin, and I’m invested, I’ll keep reading, but put it in the title, you’ve lost me.

What are your turn-offs?

Happy reading.

signature2

Leave a Reply

