Book Review – Shane by Jessica Gadziala

 goodreads

shaneI was just supposed to be laying low, keeping my head down, staying out of trouble.

And “trouble” was exactly what Shane freaking Mallick was. Knee-cap breaker, loan shark enforcer, panty-dropper. Trouble with a capital T.

And the absolute last thing I needed in my life…

rating

4 out of 5 stars

review

That may be the shortest book summary on goodreads….and also the least representative about what a book is about.

I love book series about brothers, so I was excited to give this a try.  Shane Mallick is an enforcer; his father is a loan shark, and he’s the knee capper.  He has 4 brothers and comes from a very tight knit family.

Lea moved to Jersey after escaping a very bad situation.  She gets a job as a phone sex operator, working for Fiona Mallick, Shane’s sister-in-law.  She lives in a shithole with eclectic tenants and guess who her landlord is – Shane.

Going to say this up front – wasn’t the biggest fan of Lea.  I get that she had a rough life (which we didn’t learn about until about 70% into the story).  She was kind of a bitch to Shane – and Shane was awesome.  I love a good alpha, and Shane was just that.

After Lea told Shane her secret, and Shane decided to act, that’s when I finally started to like Lea.

I loved the Mallick family.  Charlie and Helen, the parents are great.  Mark, Eli and Ryan are the single brothers, and who the next books are about, are great.  Hunter, who is married to Fiona, is great.

One final thing – I loved the epilogue in this book.  I was broken into time segments, which I loved.  I’m a huge fan of epilogues and I loved this one.

Overall, this was a good book and I’m excited to read Ryan’s book next.

Happy reading.

signature2

Leave a Reply

