Book Review – Major Love by Kate Stewart

Goodreads Summary

“I met her at an all-time low . . . the worst night of my life—a time I never wanted to remember.”“It was a major-lovenight I could never forget.”
“When it came to women, I swore I was done with wishful thinking. Ball and my coaching career were all that mattered.”
“I reminded him it wasn’t.”
“She was everything I was afraid of.”
“He was everything I’d ever wanted.”
“She was fire—an irresistible piece of southern heaven that I couldn’t stay away from.
“He was smoke that clouded me in every imaginable way.”
“And the sex . . .”
“Dear God, the sex . . .”
“I fell hard, and she gave me hell at every turn.”
“I made a promise I was hell bent on keeping.”
“And you kept it.”
“Hell yes I did.”
“Fuckin’ A.”

Rating

4 out of 5 stars

Review

I had high hopes for the second book in this series, and in a way, I was disappointed.  Why?  Andy, the hero.

Andy meets April at Rafe and Alice’s engagement party, and he’s hammered.  The woman he was in love with, but never actually WITH, left town and he’s devastated.  I don’t understand how you can be so in love with someone you’ve never even been on a date with or even kissed.  But Andy was majorly in love with Kristina.

In comes April.  A true southern girl who likes to fish and hunt.  She’s been living with her sister since an incident left her sister devastated, and she always puts others needs before her own.  April agrees to drive a drunk Andy home from the party and he opens the floodgates to her.  She ends up kind of falling for him that night.

Over the next few months, they begin a friendship.  Andy owns a bar and is going to be a bullpen coach in the major leagues once the season starts, so April knows Andy won’t be around forever.  Andy guards his heart fiercely (again, over the chick he never even had) but eventually starts to fall for April.  April, however, is insecure because Andy has been so hot and cold with her.

I liked April.  She was a pretty kick ass heroine.  She was funny as hell, loyal to her family and friends and very caring.  She put up with a lot of crap from Andy in the beginning. I did grow to like Andy, but it took a little while.

Sidebar – how in the hell are you supposed to know what this book about from the goodreads summary?  I freaking hated it.  End sidebar.

Anyway, I like this series and will continue to read more of it.

Happy reading.

signature

Leave a Reply

