Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite TV shows of all time

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish blog.  This week’s theme is:

This week’s topic: In honor of Fall Tv, do a tv-themed topic!   I’m doing my favorite TV shows of all time.  I’m doing top comedies and top dramas.

Top Comedies

The Office (US).  If you have read my blog, you know I love The Office.  This show is clever, witty and full of great characters, including my all time favorite TV character – Jim Halpert.

The Big Bang Theory.  This show about four nerdy guys is a very endearing show.  Over 9 seasons, we have seen tremendous character growth in both Sheldon Cooper and Amy Farrah Fowler.  Penny has also come into her own as a mature woman.  The show is hilarious and can be seen often on TBS.

Friends.  Friends debuted in 1994 when I was 22 years old – I was their target audience and I loved it.  It’s a show that has endured and is now finding a new audience.  My 17 year old son loves it.

Arrested Development.  A show SO far ahead of its time, AD is the story of an extremely dysfunctional family, lead by Jason Bateman, as the only “normal” member of his family.  This show is narrated by Ron Howard and the acting is top notch.  It’s on Netflix for streaming, and I would highly recommend it.

Cheers.  I remember as a kid watching Cheers every Thursday night.  It was WAY above my head, but I didn’t care.  I wanted to see if Sam and Diane would end up together, if Carla would get knocked up again and if we would ever see Vera.

Top Dramas

The Wire.  This is one of the best shows ever, and tops many lists stating such.  Gritty, raw, emotional.  The Wire is about Baltimore cops, DA’s and drug dealers.  I watched this after listening to Serial.  Very deep series and very much worth the watch.

Breaking Bad.  Say my name.  If you haven’t watched Breaking Bad, you need to.  It’s on Netflix.  This show will take you on a journey you have never experienced before.  What starts off as a fluffy, kind of boring show, goes into unchartered TV territory, and you won’t be the same when it’s over.  Watch it.

Game of Thrones.  Another show I binged.  GOT is amazingly good.  The characters are great, the acting is great, the scenery is great.  There are lots of characters, and it can get very confusing (google will be your best friend), but this show is awesome.

The West Wing.  I love pretty much anything Aaron Sorkin does, and in my opinion, the West Wing is his best work.  Set in the White House during Jed Bartlett’s administration, we see what goes on in the background at the White House.  Some of the best dialogue ever can be found in this show.  There wasn’t a character I didn’t like (ok, there was one, but they only lasted one season:).  Fantastic show.

The Sopranos.  Notice an HBO trend….The Sopranos was the reason I had HBO.  This show was incredibly well cast, the acting was great and despite the fact that these people were criminals and murderers, you felt for them.  I don’t think this show streams but it’s so good.

What are your favorite shows of all time?

signature

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

