Musing Monday – The Book was Better

Musing Monday is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Name a book that was turned into a movie, and completely desecrated (in your opinion).

This was an easy one for me.  Pretty much any book by Michael Crichton that was turned into a movie was awful, with the exception of Jurassic Park (though the book was better).  Congo, Sphere (my all time favorite book), and Rising Sun were made into terrible movies, and each movie had a all-star cast.  I’ll be honest that I’ve never seen Sphere, but I knew it would be an awful movie (and I heard it was).  Congo could have been a good movie, but it just fell flat.  But I would highly recommend all these books (and pretty much any book by Michael Crichton).

What book adaptation do you think was desecrated?

Happy reading.

signature

Leave a Reply

