Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish Blog.

This week’s topic is: Ten Childhood Characters You’d Love To Revisit As Adults

Here’s my Top Ten (or eight:).

The Tree from the Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein.  The little kid (then grown man) is this book is a selfish dickhead, but the tree is an amazing character, so selfless.  One of my all time favorites, thanks to the tree.  Even though he’s likely over 100, he’s probably just as selfless as ever.

giving tree

Margaret from Are you There God, It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume.  Margaret was a pivotal character in my youth.  My mom didn’t tell me a lot about girly stuff, and I learned it from Margaret.  She’s probably still teaching kids about cool stuff.

AreYouThereGod

The Cat from the Cat in the Hat by Dr. Suess.  That cat was a fun dude, leading those lucky kids on some fun adventures.  I’m sure he’s found new kids to have fun with over time!

cat in the hat

Joe and Frank Hardy of the Hardy Boys by Franklin W. Dixon.  The Hardy Boys would probably still be solving crimes, likely using DNA now, since they are super smart!!

the hardy boys

Ramona Quimby from the Ramona Quimby series by Beverly Cleary.  Ramona Quimby was an important person in my youth.  I’d bet now she’s a mom chasing after kids just as precocious as her!

ramona quimby

Encyclopedia Brown by Donald Sobol.  I’m trying to introduce EB to my own son, but he’s not much interested.  I’m sure that he’s running the FBI now or something!!

encloypedia brown

 

Scout from To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  I imagine Scout as a Civil Rights lawyer turned Senator.  She had that kind of spunk.

mockingbird

Here a few YA characters I’d like to catch up with:

Brittany and Alex from Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles.  Brittany and Alex were such a great couple.  We know they get married from the sequels, but I bet they have 5 beautiful mixed-race kids, Alex is a soccer coach and Brittany is a stay at home mom.

perfect chemistry

Fern and Ambrose from Making Faces by Amy Harmon.  We know what happens from the epilogue, but I bet Fern is a huge success and Ambrose is standing by her side proudly with their children.

making faces

Who would you like to revisit?

Happy reading.

signature

Leave a Reply

