Book Review – Forever Red by Carina Adams

Goodreads Summary

Not afraid to speak his mind or make a scene, Nathaniel Kelly has made a name for himself as country music’s ultimate bad boy.
Covered in tattoos, singing songs about drugs, drinking and heartache, Nate acts more likeforever red an out of control rock star than the grandson of one of the genres most influential and legendary stars. Every man wants to be him. Every woman wants just one night with the hard-rocking country rebel.  Except me. I just want to know that the boy I used to love is happy and that I didn’t break his heart in vain. That’s why I buy every magazine that even mentions his name; at least, that’s the story I tell myself.

When my friends gave me a birthday present any fan would die for, I was suddenly face-to-face with the man I never thought I’d see again. My body wasn’t supposed to react to him the way it did. And, Nate sure as hell wasn’t supposed to look at me the way he used to.  Can someone you loved as a teenager really have a hold on your heart twelve years later? Is it ever too late to say you’re sorry and make up for past wrongs? I’m about to find out.

Rating

3 out of 5 stars

Review

Forever Red is the story of Lia (or Cecelia, or CeCe) and Neil (or Nate/Nathaniel).  Neil moves to a new school junior year and Lia is the first person he meets.  They become fast friends, and their friendship eventually turns to romance.

Lia is from a trailer park.  She’s dirt poor and her mother is never around.  She basically raises herself.  Neil doesn’t care.  He loves her, and that’s that.  Push comes to shove and Lia pushes Neil away, and disappears.  They reconnect several years later at his concert.

There were several things I didn’t like about this story.  They are:

  • Lia and her friends and the “game” they played.  It was utterly ridiculous.
  • Neil (Nate) deciding to change his name to Neil.
  • Ally, the head cheerleader, who wants to be with Neil.
  • Lia and Neil’s immaturity at age 30.
  • Neil’s forgiveness of Lia so quickly after breaking his heart.
  • Neil’s mom – she was a poorly written character.  Most mother’s want their children to be happy.  His mom seemed deadest against his happiness.
  • The fact that the first 40%+ percent of this book was spent on their high school days.
  • The fact that this book was so long and detail heavy.  I honestly skipped through a lot of it.
  • All of the nicknames for Lia (including Lee, which is what Mike called her).
  • The storyline around Lia sleeping with a teacher at age 16, then dating him while she was in her twenties.  Ew, pedophile.

The thing I liked best about this book was Mike, Lia’s best friend.  Mike was a total stand up guy, and the only reason I’m going to read the next book is because it’s about him. I also really liked Nate’s brother Noah – he was a cool kid.

This book was long and all over the place.  I hope Mike’s book is better; he deserves it.

Happy reading.

signature

Leave a Reply

