Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10 Books I loved but don’t talk about often enough

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Broke & Bookish Blog.  This week’s topic is books we loved but don’t talk about often enough.  This is a really interesting topic because there are SO many books I love, that I had to really think about this.  Here are my top 10, in no particular order.

  1. Sphere by Michael Crichton.  This is one of my all-time favorite books.  I read this book about 25 years ago and remember staying up until 2 in the morning to finish it.  It was that good.  The ultimate psychological thriller.

sphere

2.  Deception Point by Dan Brown.  I read this after I read DaVinci Code and Angels and Demons and was surprised by what a great thriller it was.  The subject matter was fresh and unique and I loved every second.

deception point

3.  Winter Garden by Kristen Hannah.  This book.  This story about two sisters and their relationship with their distant mother is still one of my all time favorites.  A beautiful story about how your childhood can shape the person you become but not define it.  A must read.

winter garden

4.  Making Faces by Amy Harmon.  What can I say about this book other than it’s one of the very best books ever written.  The story of Ambrose and Fern is one that will stick with you long after you read it.  If you haven’t read this, do yourself a favor and read it.  Have the tissues ready.

making faces

5.  Defending Jacob by William Landay.  I’m not sure what lead me to read this intense psychological thriller, but I’m so glad I did.  This book was incredibly well written with a surprise ending I never saw coming.  This is a great read.

defending jacob

6.  Hopeless by Colleen Hoover.  Omg, this book.  So many twists and turns that you would never see coming.  Seriously one of the best young adult books ever written.   A must read.

hopeless

7.  Rock Chick by Kristen Ashley.  This book, and the subsequent 7 follow up books, are just plain awesome.  This series follows  an eclectic group of friends in Denver and the crazy, hot alpha males they meet along the way.  The books are long (as are all KA books), but there are fun reads.

rock chick

8.  Friend-Zoned by Belle Aurora.  This book was one of the funniest books I have read in a long time, filled with crazy ladies and true alpha males.  There are two sequels, which are just as good.

friend zoned

9.  The Infamous Ellen James by N.A. Alcorn.  If you like books about crude nurses and hot doctors, then this is the book for you.  This book is absolutely hilarious.

ellen james

10.  Heller by J.D. Nixon.  Heller is the story of Tilly Chalmers and Heller (just Heller) and Heller’s employee’s, who are some of the best characters I’ve ever read.  This book is set in Australia (I think) and is really funny, sad and great, all at the same time.  There are 6 books in the series.

heller

Be my friend on goodreads.com

Leave a Reply

