Book Review – To Love Jason Thorn by Ella Maise

Summary from goodreads.com: 

Jason Thorn… My brother’s childhood friend.  Oh, how stupidly in love with that boy I was. He was the first boy that made me blush, my first jasonthornofficial crush. Sounds beautiful so far, right? That excitement that bubbles up inside you, those famous butterflies you feel for the very first time—he was the reason for them all. But, you only get to live in that fairytale world until they crush your hopes and dreams and then stomp on your heart for good measure. And boy did he crush my little heart into pieces.  After the stomping part he became the boy I did my best to stay away from—and let me tell you, it was pretty hard to do when he slept in the room right across from mine.

When tragedy struck his family and they moved away, I was ready to forget he ever existed.  Now he is a movie star, the one who makes women of all ages go into a screaming frenzy, the one who makes everyone swoon with that dimpled smile of his. Do you think that’s dreamy? I certainly don’t think so. How about me coming face to face with him? Nope still not dreamy. Not when I can’t even manage to look him in the eye.

Me? I’m Olive, a new writer. Actually, I’m THE writer of the book that inspired the movie he is about to star in on the big screen. As of late, I am also referred to as the oh-so-very-lucky girl who is about to become the wife of Jason Thorn.  Maybe you’re thinking yet again that this is all so dreamy? Nope, nothing dreamy going on here. Not even close.

Rating

5 stars

Review

I’m telling you right now – I love Jason Thorn!

To Love Jason Thorn is the story of Olive Taylor (I love her name), who at the ripe age of 8 years old falls in love with her brother’s best friend – Jason Thorn.  Jason has a rough family life, and practically lives with the Taylor’s.  Olive is always looking out for Jason, making sure he gets the first piece of pie (and the biggest).  After Olive finally works up the courage to make a movie with Jason, when she is thirteen, Jason has a family tragedy and movies away.

Flash forward 8 years, and Olive is in her senior year at USC.  Olive has also written a novel, which is being turned into a screenplay.  Jason is now a very successful actor in Hollywood, and has been tapped to play the lead role in the movie based on Olive’s book.  Olive and Jason meet again and Olive tries very hard to keep her distance from Jason – as she is still in love with him.  Sadly for her, it doesn’t work, and Jason inserts himself in Jason’s life.

Jason has had a hard time with his image in the tabloids.  He was caught having sex in an alley and told he needed to clean up his image.  His agents had the idea that he should get marriage – and who better than Olive.

This book was fantastic.  To be completely honest, you have to suspend reality quite a bit – this would not happen in real life, but the characters were so well written and likable that you look past all that.  I also loved that this book was told in the first person, alternating POV’s.  There was a little side story regarding Olive’s roommates that was really annoying, but overall, this was a great read and I would highly recommend this book to anyone!

Leave a Reply

