Book Review – Necessary Restorations by Kate Canterbary

Goodreads Summary

They liked to call me names. Manwhore. Slut. Player. But I make wrong look so right… He’s a flawed perfectionist… I can read women better than any blueprint. I understand their thoughts and feelings, their secret desires and necessary restorationsinsecurities, and I know how to get rid of them once I get off. But all bets are off when Tiel Desai slams into my life. She redefines what it means to be friends, and she makes it sound like the filthiest thing I’ve ever heard. I can’t read the gorgeous conservatory-trained violinist, but she’s the only one keeping me from shattering by small degrees, and I can’t let her go.

She’s wildly independent… My past—and New Jersey—are far behind me, and now my life is blissfully full of music: playing, teaching, and lecturing, and scouring Boston’s underground scene with an annoyingly beautiful, troubled, tattooed architect.   I’m defenseless against his rooftop kisses, our nearly naked dance parties, the snuggletimes that turn into sexytimes, and his deep, demanding voice. I have Sam Walsh stuck in my head like a song on repeat, and I’m happy pretending history won’t catch up with me.  The one thing they have in common is a rock-solid disregard for the rules.   They find more in each other than they ever realized they were missing, but they might have to fall apart before they can come together. It’s the wrongs that make the rights come to life.

Rating

3 out of 5 stars

Review

While I really like the Walsh’s, this was not one of my favorite books.  Sam has been on the back burner in the previous two books – kind of a quick to anger, woe is me kind of guy.  I wanted to like Sam, and I did – a little.  Let me explain.

If you have read the prior two books, you know that Angus Walsh, father to the Walsh brood, was an awful bastard – especially to Sam.  Sam was told by his father, from his youth, that he was an unworthy homosexual.  Sam believed his father for a while, that he was gay, but realized he was not.  Sam also has diabetes, and lives with “hardware” on his body, providing him with the glucose he needs to survive.

While checking out a building to purchase, Sam gets into an elevator with Tiel, a woman who is wearing very colorful clothes and seems to like music.  They end up trapped in the elevator – for 8 hours.   They learn a lot about each other during that 8 hours, and after they are rescued, they become inseparable.  Here is where the books falls off the rails for me.

Tiel has family issues.  Insane family issues.  She was raised in a large Greek family, expected to work in her family restaurant like everyone else.  As soon as she could, Tiel left her family and went to Julliard.  She was married at 19 and divorced soon after when she discovered her husband had been unfaithful. Tiel has some intense abandonment issues – stemming from her family relationship and her divorce.  She doesn’t trust easily.

Sam also has some major insecurities, stemming from the years of abuse he suffered at the hand of his father.  Sam doesn’t have sex with people – he gets blow jobs in seedy bars.  He doesn’t want anyone to see his hardware.  Sam and Tiel are friends for quite a while – both seeming to want more, but not being able to tell each other.

They finally get together.  Tiel gets with Sam’s family and acts like a total asshole.  She “doesn’t do families”.  This part made no sense to me.   Tiel walks in on Sam getting kissed by someone (she was kissing him) and freaks the hell out and breaks up with Sam.  Sam then falls off the grid for two months – then they get back together and have a happy ending.

The book doesn’t flow.  I couldn’t relate to Tiel at all.  I come from a close knit family and married into a huge, Italian family.  When you love someone, you make concessions.  Tiel wasn’t willing to do that.  Tiel kind of redeemed herself at the end, but I really didn’t love her – she was no Andy or Lauren.

I am excited to read Shannon’s book.  I will keep reading, but I hope that Shannon’s book is better than Sam’s.

 

Leave a Reply

