Book Review – The Space Between by Kate Canterbary

Summary from goodreads.com:  Patrick – That hair. That fucking hair. It was everywhere, always, and I wanted to tangle my fingers in those dark curls and pull. And that wouldthespacebetween be fine if she wasn’t my apprentice. Andy Asani was nothing like I expected. She was exotic and scary-brilliant, and the slightest murmur from those lips sent hot, hungry lust swirling through my veins. Outside my siblings, she was the only person I could name who shared my obsession with preserving Boston’s crumbling buildings.

Andy – My wants were few: good eats, tall boots, hot yoga, interesting work. One incredibly hot architect with the most expressive hazel eyes I ever encountered and entirely too much talent in and out of the bedroom wasn’t part of the original plan. Apparently he was part of the package. Wine was my rabbi and vodka was my therapist, and I needed plenty of both to survive my apprenticeship. Especially with Patrick Walsh leaving love notes in the form of bite marks all over my body.

My rating:  3 1/2 stars

My review:  The second book in the Walsh series was much better than the first.  Book 2 is the story of Patrick Walsh, the brother of Matthew, who is kind of a jerk.  The beginning of the book finds Patrick interviewing Andy Asani for an apprenticeship at his architectural firm.  Andy has dreamed of working with Patrick since forever.  Patrick is a legend in his field.  Patrick doesn’t plan on ever falling in love, but when he sees Andy..

Andy was a pretty cool chick.  She was kind of closed off; she didn’t share much about herself with Patrick, which drove him crazy, and she was kind of a lousy friend to her only childhood friend, who also happens to live in Boston.  Andy quickly hits it off with Lauren (book 1) and they become good friends.

Patrick was much less stalker-ish than Matthew.  Patrick just obsessed about Andy internally, whereas Matthew was pretty much a true stalker.  We also got to see Matthew and Lauren get married in this book, and we met Lauren’s Navy Seal brothers.  There was some discoveries in the Walsh’s childhood home that was interesting.  Overall, this book was much better than the first and I will keep reading the series.

Leave a Reply

