Book Review – The Air He Breaths by Brittainy C. Cherry

I was warned about Tristan Cole.
“Stay away from him,” people said.
“He’s cruel.”
“He’s cold.”
“He’s damaged.”

It’s easy to judge a man because of his past. To look at Tristan and see a monster.

But I couldn’t do that. I had to accept the wreckage that lived inside of him because it also lived inside of me.

We were both empty.
We were both looking for something else. Something more.
We both wanted to put together the shattered pieces of our yesterdays.

Then perhaps we could finally remember how to breathe.

2 1/2 out of 5 stars

I purchased this book on Amazon, because it’s gotten so many 5 star reviews.  I was disappointed, and I know I’m in the minority here.

The Air He Breathes is the story of Tristan and Elizabeth.  They have both been scarred by tragedy.  I won’t give spoilers but they both lost people in their lives that they loved, in a horrible way.  Elizabeth is a single mother to Emma, and Tristan is a single man.  Elizabeth lives in the same town as her in-laws, who seem to spend an obscene amount of time with their granddaughter.

Overall, I found this book was pretty uneven.  Why?  Lots of choppiness in the timeline of events and some really unrealistic ways of dealing with grief.  I will point out that Tristan and Liz live next door to each other, and Liz spends a lot of time sneaking into his house in the middle of the night.  Leaving her 5-year old daughter home alone.  Oh wait, the daughter is hardly mentioned.  She also seemed to dump her daughter with her grandmother quite a bit. I found that very uneven and very strange.

The daughter, Emma, was pretty adorable when she was part of this story.  She had an adorable nickname for Tristan and loved his dog.

There was a side story about Liz’s mom, which was also very uneven and didn’t really have a conclusion.  I get why the author added this, but it didn’t really come to a conclusion.

I would have given this book a much better review, but the last 20% of this book had me shaking my head.  It contained a lot of stupid, unnecessary shit that didn’t need to happen that really felt like a soap opera.  The drama between Tristan and Elizabeth was extremely predictable, and I knew it was going to happen at about 40%; I was annoyed.  I also found it annoying that the author decided to paint the small town Liz and Tristan lived in as a town full gossips who had nothing better to do than talk about her/them.

The events at the end of the book….I don’t even know how to put that into words.  I felt like I was watching a bad lifetime movie starring Tori Spelling.  It was so over the top and stupid that I was just left shaking my head.  If the book ended at 80%, I would have given it an A.  But ugh, this stupid ending.

I’m not sure I would recommend buying this for $2.99.  Borrow from the library, or I can loan you my copy.

Leave a Reply

