Book Review – Fighting Shadows by Aly Martinez

I come from a family of fighters. I always thought I’d follow in their shadows, becoming unstoppable in the ring. That changed the day I saved the life of a woman I loved, but could never have.  My brother hailed me as a hero, and my reward was a wheelchair.  Paralyzed, my life became an inescapable nightmare.  Until I met her.

Ash Mabie had a heart-stopping smile and a laugh that numbed the rage and resentment brewing inside of me. She showed me that even the darkest night still had stars, and it didn’t matter one bit that you had to lie in the weeds to see them.

I was a jaded asshole who fell for a girl with a knack for running away. I couldn’t even walk but I would have spent a lifetime chasing her.  Now, I’m on the ropes during the toughest battles of my life. Fighting the shadows of our past.
Fighting to reclaim my future. Fighting for her.

4 out of 5 stars

Book 2 of the “On The Ropes” series focuses on Flint, younger brother of Till from book 1.  I loved the first book – and I love Till.

Flint was injured in a shooting and paralyzed.  He was angry and bitter and pretty much a dick.  Then one day, he meets Ash, and she turns his world upside down.  Ash had a tough life – she was a pick pocket for her father with no education.  Ash’s father married Flint’s mother – and together, they tried to get custody of Flint’s younger brother, to get back at Till and to get his money.

Flint and Ash had great chemistry – then one night, Flint found out something about Ash and lashed out at her – causing her to run – for three years.  I liked the person Flint became during this time, because, to be honest, I didn’t like Flint for the first 20% or so of this book.  I stuck with it because I knew that deep down, he was a good guy, which he proved.  I loved Ash.  She was a sweet girl who had been dealt a shit hand, but remained positive and wanted to be a good person.  The Page boys had a rough life as well, and came out of it better people.  Overall, likable characters.

This book is told in the first person, alternating point of view – my favorite!  The pace moved nicely, and the story was mostly believable.

Good series, I would recommend.

Leave a Reply

