Book Review – Without Me by Chelle Bliss (Men of Inked #5)

I’d led a selfish existence.
I liked who I was. Hell, I loved myself.
Women threw themselves at me and I took what they offered without remorse. I promised them nothing. I sank my teeth into life, holding on to the bitch like my very existence depended on it.
Time passed.
Women came and went.
The second I let my guard down and released the hold I had on life… What was my award for such carelessness?
A love so spectacular and heart wrenching that it threw me for a loop. When I was in too deep to escape, my greatest fears became reality.
This is my story. My downfall.  My salvation.

4 out of 5 stars
 

I have loved this series, and I love the Gallo men.  We finally get to Anthony, the last of the brothers.  Anthony is in his late thirties and is a real asshole.  He admits it.  One night, he’s at a bar and hits on Max.  Max doesn’t take his shit, and calls him an asshole.  Of course, he’s hooked.

After weeks of looking for her, Anthony finally finds Max again.  She doesn’t want anything to do with him, despite her strong attraction to him.  She finally caves in and sleeps with Anthony, but still keeps pushing him away.

While I liked Max and how feisty she was, her reason for being the way she was UTTERLY STUPID.  It’s hard to believe an intelligent woman in her mid-thirties would think and behave the way she did without any facts. It sort of cheapened the story for me, and I found it uninteresting.

I liked watching Anthony change and become “pussy-whipped” like his brothers.  I liked the epilogue and felt it was a good ending to the series, but I hope that Ms. Bliss continues to write more about the Gallo’s in the future.  Overall, good read.

Leave a Reply

