Cooper by Harper Sloan (Corps Security #4)

Genre: Romance

Goodreads Shelves: Hot Alpha Male, Romance
My rating: 3 1/2 out of 5 stars
My recommendation: Read it, but read series in order

Summary from goodreads.com:

Do you take me seriously? Because I don’t. I use my jokes and easygoing personality to hide the pain I’ve felt since he took his last breath. I’m adrift without my partner in crime, my best friend…my brother. I can taste the vengeance just within my grasp.

Until she barges into my life. Promising me happiness and a peace I’ve been craving for years. She is the sun to my darkness, the happy to my despair.

But she holds secrets. Just like I do. She holds hers close, where I just pray mine don’t rock the walls we’re trying to build.

Now I’m stuck at a crossroads between my desire for revenge and my craving for her and the life we could have together—and I have no idea which road I should travel.

All I know with crystal clear certainty is that the past has the power to destroy it all.

My review:

Cooper is the 4th book in the Corps Security Series.  This book follows Asher Cooper, brother of Zeke Cooper, whom we have known from the prior books.  The heroine in this book is Chelcie, who works with Dee (from Beck).  We found out at the end of book 4 that Chelcie was pregnant.  I can’t give away many more details without being a spoiler.

Chelcie and Ash have an intense attraction to one another.  But Chelcie is keeping the secret of her pregnancy from him (again, would be a spoiler, so can’t say anything more).  Dee encourages Checlie to tell Ash about the pregnancy.  She does, finally, and he doesn’t take the news so well.  Then Checlie wakes up the next morning with Ash wrapped around her.  From there, their relationship skyrockets.

The speed at which their relationship moved was a little unbelievable.  Chelcie was a really strong female character, and I really admired that about her.  Ash was kind of a dick in the beginning of the book, dealing with some stuff.  He was living out of a bottle, and Maddox set him straight. 

I will say that I thought I had this figured out, and I was convinced I knew what was going to happen.  What did happen was totally different than I expected, and unexpected.  I give the author credit for keeping me guessing.

Overall, this was a good book, but not my favorite in the series.

Leave a Reply

