Alpha by Jasinda Wilder (CONTAINS SPOILERS)

Book description from goodreads.com:

The first time it happened, it seemed like an impossible miracle. Bills were piling up, adding up to more money than I could ever make. Mom’s hospital bills. My baby brother’s tuition. My tuition. Rent. Electricity. All of it on my shoulders. And I had just lost my job. There was no hope, no money in my account, no work to be found. And then, just when I thought all hope was lost, I found an envelope in the mail. No return address. My name on the front, my address. Inside was a check, made out to me, in the amount of ten thousand dollars. Enough to pay the bills and leave me some left over to live on until I found a job. Enough to let me focus on classes. There was no name on the check, just “VRI Inc.,” and a post office box address for somewhere in the city. No hint of identity or reason for the check or anything. No mention of repayment, interest, nothing…except a single word, on the notes line: “You.” Just those three letters.

If you receive a mysterious check, for enough money to erase all your worries, would you cash it? I did. The next month, I received another check, again from VRI Incorporated. It too contained a single word: “belong.”

A third check, the next month. This time, two words. Four letters. “To me.”

The checks kept coming. The notes stopped. Ten thousand dollars, every month. A girl gets used to that, real quick. It let me pay the bills without going into debt. Let me keep my baby brother in school and Mom’s hospice care paid for. How do you turn down what seems like free money, when you’re desperate? You don’t. I didn’t.

And then, after a year, there was a knock on my door. A sleek black limousine sat on the curb in front of my house. A driver stood in front of me, and he spoke six words: “It’s time to pay your debt.”  Would you have gotten in?  I did.  It turns out $120,000 doesn’t come free.

My rating:

1 star for the story
4 stars for the sex

My review:

Please excuse my language but what the fuck did I just read?  I thought Christian Grey was a fucked up dude.  Well, sad to say that Valentine Roth may be worse.

Alpha is about Kyrie (pronounced Kee-ree) St. Claire.  Kyrie is a 26 year old woman struggling to take care of her ailing mother and brother, who is in college, since the murder of her father 7 years before.  The book begins with Kyrie losing her job, then being told by her 60 year old boss that she could keep her job if she put out.  She assaults the man (who is taken out by security) but loses her job anyway.  She goes home and opens her mail and finds a check, made out to her, for $10,000, with the word “you” in the memo.  What would any normal person do?  Probably tear the check up, assume it was a mistake.  What does Kyrie do?  She cashes it, then proceeds to cash the 11 other checks that are sent to her over the next year.  They eventually spell out “You belong to me”.

Then, one day, Kyrie gets a knock on her door, and a man named Harris is there to “collect” her.  Seems its time to pay up the debt she has racked up.  Does this story sound ridiculous?  Just wait, it gets worse.

She is put on an airplane, and flown from Detroit to New York.  Once they land in NY, she is blindfolded and told the collector prefers it that way.  She is taken to his residence, where she is kept blindfolded – FOR DAYS!!!  That’s right.  She meets her collector, but she can’t see him.  He won’t tell her his name, but tells her that she will end up begging for him (which she does).  He ends up taking her to a restaurant and to the Met for an opera – while blindfolded.  Mind you, he told her she could leave.  AND SHE DIDN’T!!!  Oh wait, it gets better (and by better, I mean worse).

Once he finally takes her blindfold off (after making her come a million times, therefore she earned his trust (HUH??) she discovers he is OF COURSE a gorgeous man.  Then she’s all “I want you” but he won’t take her unless it’s in his bed in his “private quarters” (yes, that’s what it was called – it’s even the title of a chapter).  This was stupid in itself, but it got worse.

Valentine Roth (which he eventually tells her is his name) has a secret – a secret that will change everything.  SPOILER ALERT – this was the most predictable secret I’ve ever read.  Guess what it was?  Go on.  That’s right, he killed her father.  In self defense.  But he manned up and told her he did it.  So what does she do?  She goes back to Detroit – for 3 months. Then she ends up with him again, after he sends her a ridiculous letter about the beauty of her soul or some shit.

This was seriously one of the worst books I’ve ever read.  I will admit, the sex scenes were steamy, but that alone was not worthy of the time I wasted on this utter piece of shit that I won’t get back. 

My recommendation:

Do NOT waste your money or time on this.  Total, utter garbage.

Leave a Reply

