The Missing Link by J.M. Sevilla (Marked #1)

Book description from goodreads.com:

There are three things Lily Evans immediately notices about her new neighbor, Jay Lincoln. The first is his monstrous size, the second is the malicious way he glares at her, and thirdly, but most importantly, the three scars that mark his right eye. She knows the smart thing to do is stay away, but she has never met or seen anyone like him. The more time she spends with this frightening yet captivating man, the harder it becomes. He can make her hairs stand on end but he also has a sweetness to him that tugs at her heart. Soon she finds herself merged into his world full of murder, revenge, and deceit.
My rating:

4 stars

My review:

I’ve had this book for a while and it didn’t catch my interest.  Why?  The cover is boring.  Covers are what catch my eye first.  This cover could have been so much better.  But I will tell you in this case, don’t judge this book by it’s boring cover – this book is one hell of a thrill ride!

Lily moves home after breaking up with her controlling, abusive boyfriend.  On Christmas, her mom tells her to go over to her neighbor’s house and bring him some leftovers, since she felt bad for him being alone on Christmas.  A massive man with scars on his face opens the door and is quite rude to Lily.  She goes back later with pie.  She keeps trying, and eventually Jay softens and they form a friendship.  Jay offers her self-defense classes.  She takes him up on his offer.  He refuses to tell her anything about his past.  And so it goes.

I saw a review on goodreads say this book was boring.  To them I say WHAT?  This book was great!  Fast paced, full of action and excitement, this book was as far from boring as you can get!!  I would say it was a little long and detail heavy, but it didn’t take away from the book at all.  This was a great read and I’m glad I gave it a chance!

My recommendation:

Read it!!

This is who I pictured as Jay the whole time (and yes I know he’s too old)

 


Leave a Reply

