Seducing Cinderella by Gina Maxwell (Fighting for Love #1)

Book description from goodreads.com:

Mixed martial arts fighter Reid Andrews’s chance to reclaim his title as light heavyweight champ is shattered when he’s injured only months before the rematch. To make sure he’s healed in time, his trainer sends him to recuperate under a professional’s care—Reid’s best friend’s little sister, all grown up.

Disorganized and bookish Lucie Miller needs some professional help of her own. She’d do anything to catch the eye of a doctor she’s crushed on for years, so when Reid offers seduction lessons in exchange for 24/7 conditioning for the biggest fight of his career, Lucie jumps at the chance.

Soon Reid finds himself in the fight of his life…winning Lucie’s heart before she gives it to someone else.

My rating:

4 stars

My review:

Was this book predictable?  Yes.  Were Lucie’s insecurities a tad annoying?  Yes.  Did I care?  No.  Why?  Reid, that’s why.  I freaking LOVED Reid.

Seducing Cinderella is the story about Lucie, a bookish Physical Therapist who is secretly in love with a doctor at her hospital, and Reid, a MMA fighter assigned to Lucie for PT, while getting ready to train to regain his title.  Reid is Lucie’s brother’s best friend, and at first, doesn’t recognize Lucie.  Reid is set on winning his title back, but he needs round the clock PT care, so he makes Lucy a deal.  Be his own personal PT, and he will teach her how to seduce the doctor she is in love with.

As I said, this story is predictable, but I found myself not caring.  I was so invested in these characters that I didn’t matter that I knew how it was going to end.  There were a few things in the book that weren’t tied up, and I attribute that more to this being Ms. Maxwell’s first book, and it certainly did not take away from the story.  Overall, this was a good book and I am excited to read the next one.

My only “complaint” would be that the company that publishes this book uses the same type of cover for all its books.  Very annoying and confusing.

My recommendation:

Read it.

Leave a Reply

