When I Break by Kendall Ryan

Book description from goodreads.com:

Knox Bauer’s life has unraveled to the point of no return. Fighting to fill the emptiness inside himself, he seeks solace in unfamiliar beds with unfamiliar women. As guardian to his three younger brothers, he can’t seem to do a thing right. But this can’t go on…they look up to him in every way and all he’s done lately is prove how messed up he really is. Needing a change, he attends a local Sex Addicts Anonymous meeting, where he finds himself tempted by the alluring instructor, McKenna.

Twenty-one year old McKenna is trying to make amends. After losing her parents in a horrific accident, she knows if she can just be good enough, maybe she can forgive herself for what happened. With her newly acquired degree in counseling, she begins leading a sex addicts group where she meets the troubled Knox and her life takes on complications she never bargained for. She doesn’t have time for a bad boy who only wants to take her to bed, even if her body disagrees. The fixer in her wants to help, but trusting Knox’s true motivations might take more courage than she has.
My rating:

2.5 stars

My review:

I read the “Unravel Me” series by Kendall Ryan and really enjoyed it, so I thought “of course I will like this book as well.”  Sadly, I really didn’t like it.

When I Break is the story of Knox, a sex addicted guardian of his 3 younger brothers, and McKenna, a counselor who works with sex addicts.  Knox and McKenna meet at her group and they are instantly attracted to each other.  She knows she shouldn’t do anything with Knox, but she’s drawn to him. 

I kind of felt that this story was a hot mess.  The “relationship” between Knox and McKenna moved a million miles an hour, and not at all in a way to was believable.  Knox leaves a notebook at the meeting, and McKenna magically finds out where he lives and brings it to him, at the same time, meeting his brothers and then becoming part of his life.

In the meantime, she has a roommate, Brian, who is clearly in love with her and wants more than friendship, and the whole thing was bizarre.  McKenna feels guilt over what happened to her parents (which I won’t spoil) (and it’s stupid and not her fault) and Knox uses sex where others may use drugs.  I really just felt this story was a mess.  I did like Knox and the fact that he stepped up to the plate and took care of his brothers.  I didn’t really connect with McKenna at all.  And I hated Brian.

My recommendation:

Read her other series instead.

Leave a Reply

