Playing for Keeps (Neighbor from Hell #1) by R.L. Mathewson

Book description from goodreads.com

Done with being the world’s biggest pushover, Haley decides that things are going to change starting with the aggravating neighbor who has too much charm and not enough restraint. What she didn’t expect was to be sucked into his world, but Haley has a game plan and she won’t let herself forget just what the bad boy next door is capable of.

The last thing Jason expected was for his little shy neighbor to go Rambo on him over some ruined flowers. After he decides to take her under his wing he can’t help but notice that she fits very nicely in his life. Now the only thing left is to convince her that this is anything but a game.

My rating:
1 star

My review:
I honestly don’t know why I even finished this book.  This book was just plain awful, and I’m amazed at all the good reviews I read on goodreads.  This book is about Haley, a shy 29-year old virgin (yes, virgin) who lives next door to the awful Jason Bradford.  She looks outside and sees him tearing up her flowers and gives him a piece of her mind.  Then they are suddenly best friends.

This book was honestly poorly written.  I think my 8-year old son could have written a better story.  Jason was a horrible character, and he never really redeemed himself.  Haley was ok, but not much better.  Haley came from a rich, snobby family, and they were all horrible.  The only character I even remotely liked was Haley’s grandmother, and she wasn’t much of a character.

I hated the end of this book.  It just made no sense.  I don’t want to spoil it, but there is a scene in this book between Haley and Jason that made me cringe, and in my opinion, was on the verge of rape.

My recommendation:
Skip it.  This book is pretty much garbage, and I’m still trying to figure out why I even finished it.

Leave a Reply

