Falling Into You by Jasinda Wilder

Book description from goodreads.com:

I wasn’t always in love with Colton Calloway; I was in love with his younger brother, Kyle, first. Kyle was my first one true love, my first in every way.
Then, one stormy August night, he died, and the person I was died with him.

Colton didn’t teach me how to live. He didn’t heal the pain. He didn’t make it okay. He taught me how to hurt, how to not be okay, and, eventually, how to let go.

My rating:

4 stars

My review:

“I’m not just falling in love with you, Nell.  I’m falling into you.  You’re an ocean, and I’m falling in, drowning in the depths of who you are.  Like you said, it’s scary in a way, but it’s also the most amazing things I’ve ever experienced.  You are the most amazing thing I’ve ever experienced.” – Colton Calloway

I honestly think I would die if a man said those words to me. Those are some of the sweetest words I’ve heard a man say to a woman and they are fictional.  But those are the reasons I love to read, I can lose myself in someone else’s world and dream.
I read a review of this on goodreads before reading, which I NEVER do, and the reviewer said this was the “saddest book they ever read”.  I wholeheartedly disagree with that statement.  This book is about sadness and grief, but it was not the saddest book I ever read.
This book is about Nell Hawthorne and Kyle Calloway, who grew up best friends and eventually fell in love.  One night, Kyle died and Nell died along with him emotionally.  Two years later, she runs into Kyle’s older brother, Colton, in New York.
I like that this book is written from both Nell and Colton’s perspective.  They are both very damaged people, and together find the strength to heal and move on.  I felt the way that death was handled was done with care and compassion.
One of the best things about this book was the music.  Ms. Wilder used real music by real musicians, which of course I found myself looking up on You Tube and listening to.  The music she picked for the book was spot on and fit perfectly with the moment.  I’ve now been introduced to some very good music.
I also like that this is kind of a stand alone book, not a trilogy.  There is a second book in the series, but it doesn’t deal with Nell and Colton.
My recommendation:

I would highly recommend this book to anyone, with a warning that it is pretty deep.  But it is really good and worth the read.

Leave a Reply

